Our Team

Chavez Lab (Nov 2021)

Lukas Chavez, PhD

Assistant Professor
Cancer Genome and Epigenetics Program
NCI-designated Cancer Center
Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute
lchavez@sbpdiscovery.org

Assistant Adjunct Professor
Department of Medicine
Division of Genomics and Precision Medicine
UC San Diego

Director, Joseph Clayes III Research Center for Neuro-Oncology and Genomic Medicine
Rady Children’s Institute for Genomic Medicine (RCIGM)
Rady Children’s Hospital, San Diego
SBP Profile UCSD Profile

Aleli Morse

Research Admin Assistant
Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute
amorse@sbpdiscovery.org

Owen Chapman

Postdoctoral Research Scientist
Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute
ochapman@sbpdiscovery.org

Jon Larson

Staff Research Scientist
Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute
jlarson@sbpdiscovery.org

Aurelia Lo

Research Associate
Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute
laurelia@sbpdiscovery.org

Rishaan Kenkre

Research Associate
Sanford Burnham Prebys Medical Discovery Institute
rkenkre@sbpdiscovery.org

Chinmay Sharma

Rotating Graduate Student
University of California, San Diego (UCSD)
c1sharma@ucsd.edu

Aditi Dutta

Undergraduate Intern
University of California, San Diego (UCSD)
addutta@ucsd.edu

Charles Handley

Undergraduate Intern
Point Loma Nazarene University
chandley@sbpdiscovery.org

Jonathan Kirkland

Rotating Graduate Student
Bioinformatics and Systems Biology Program
University of California, San Diego (UCSD)
jokirkland@ucsd.edu

Alumni

Sunita Sridhar, MD

Clinical Fellow,
Rady Children's Hospital and University of California, San Diego (UCSD)

Ling Morgan, MS

Lab Manager
University of California, San Diego (UCSD)

Shanqing Wang

Undergraduate Intern
University of California, San Diego (UCSD)

Yingxi Lin

Undergraduate Intern,
University of California, San Diego (UCSD)

Mariya Kazachkova

Graduate Student in Biomedical Sciences (BMS, rotation student),
University of California, San Diego (UCSD)

Caitlin Guccione

Graduate Student in Bioinformatics and Systems Biology (BISB, rotation student),
University of California, San Diego (UCSD)

Sameena Wani

PostDoc
University of California, San Diego (UCSD)

Konstantin Okonechnikov

Visiting Scholar,
Children's Cancer Center,
NCT Heidelberg (KiTZ)